Love Deceit is a masterpiece.

Love Deceit is by far my favorite poem by Big Rube, a well known artist, and spoken word poet in the hip hop community. His deep baratone voice, metaphorically rich sentencing/wordplay, and passionate delivery makes you feel his emotion in each and every word…

          The poem expresses the anguish and deception that comes from being let down by love, however no matter how bad it hurts one will never stop remaining vulnerable to the ever so sweet bliss of taking the risk to have loved at all.

Enjoy 🙂

Pleasure turns to the pain 

Of the lessons learned from the strain 

Of the questions burned in my brain

About whether love is humane in its touch

These thoughts are like salmon swimming upstream in the tears of your deceit

Fighting a current hurt that kills more than is created by the chaos of our intertwined emotions

Chaotic because the anchor of Eros’ arrow has been plucked from the vessel of my undying infatuation

Separation not as simple as the distance between us

My mind no longer possessed by the demons that had been the overseers of my enslavement to your lies

The seeds of these lies rooted so deeply they’ve cracked the foundation of what we once shared

Allowing the faith in us I had sealed inside to gush out like a river

Ripping the image of our future together from my thoughts as violently and as brutally as if it were a child being taken from its mothers arms

I’m left surrounded in darkness, but I refuse to be swallowed by it

My loneliness like the night air; invisible to the eye, obvious to the touch, in its cold uncomfortableness

Yet If I could do all over again

I’d do it in the same skin I’m in

To lay down and let love die? 

Just stay down and let love lie?

No, no, no, no, not I

I’d rather stay ’round and let love fly

Even though I’ve seen its darkest form; deceit

Nothing else could taste this warm or feel this sweet”

-Big Rube

Leave a Reply

